• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Not hungry and not eating much

Hi, 

I am a newbie. Started with Keto but after 4 weeks and doing a lot of youtube

research I went full carnivore and I am coming to the end of my 2nd week. i have

lost 6lb mostly this week, I started at 280lb (20 stone),

However this week I find myself missing a lot of meals, I just don't feel hungry

and i don't fancy food much... is this a problem? should I force a meal down

or just eat when In finally get hungry enough?

Thanks in advance for any comments or advice...

Billy

Welcome Billy,

There is definitely a balance to be had. On the one hand, many people intentionally practice fasting, either intermittently by eating within a certain window of time each day (your feasting window) and then not eating for the remainder of that day (your fasting window). Most people start with 16/8, which means 16 hours straight of no food (you sleep for about 8 of these) and then eating as needed within that 8-hour window. Others will shrink their feasting window and do 18/6 or 20/4, etc. And then there are those who like to do 24, 36, 48 hours of fasting or more. 

I broke my ankle in the May and knowing my physical activity would suffer I decided then to go full carnivore, 2 meals a day, on a 16/8 intermittent fasting schedule. I was satisfied and continued to lose 10 more pounds while I couldn't put weight on the leg. I made those 2 meals count. Breakfast was several eggs and a large portion of breakfast meat, and dinner was usually a minimum 16oz striploin steak or 1 lb. of ground beef.