• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an animal-based ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Hi, I am new to carnivore

Hello, I am Roland 41y old, and I am from the Netherlands.

I just started to do the carnivore diet, after hearing it few years ago (Joe Rogan, Jordan Peterson)

Many years i have digestion problem, mostly with my gut. Bloated, unable to go to the toilet.

About 6 months ago i had c19 it got much worse.

My weight never has been a problem, but i dont eat much, about 1500kcal.

Few years ago Ive discovered i had bone lose.

So my goal is to get a better digestion, and maybe increase my bonemass. (end of this year there is a dexa scan planned)

I hope i can stick to the diet, the first 2 days where hard, painful stomach/liver/gallbladder. It seems to get little bit better now.

11 hours ago, SuperCow said:

I hope i can stick to the diet, the first 2 days where hard, painful stomach/liver/gallbladder. It seems to get little bit better now.

Welcome Roland!

If you were not previously eating a lot of fatty meat and eggs, then there will be an adaptation phase. Your gut microbiome will adjust to your new diet, your liver and gall bladder will ramp up bile production, and more. You may feel fatigue from the "keto flu" as you deplete your carb stores and switch to burning ketones for energy instead, but once you've adapted you should feel great.

11 hours ago, SuperCow said:

i dont eat much, about 1500kcal.

That sounds a bit low but I don't know your height and weight. It could be fine though. The protein heavy lifestyle should help with the bones. 

We're here for you. Let's do this 🙂

12 hours ago, Bob said:

Welcome Roland!

Hi Bob, thanks for the welcome