• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Help Regarding My Blood Sugars

Can someone give me advice please. I've been doing carnivore for 4 months. (Classic Carnivore) so just meat, fat and dairy.

My A1C (United Kingdom) two 1/2 months ago was 6.7 down from over 14.

I was taking 70 units of slow release insulin and 14 units of fast acting insulin with meals and without food to keep them low. Plus Metformin.

Since doing carnivore my blood sugars have been amazing (NO Longer in the 20+ Range) I have come off all insulin 😉 BUT my problem is: when I wake up they are between 11 and 15 and will stay high. I can see off my libre app that my blood sugars start raising at 6am regardless of what time I actually get up. Until later on in the evening where they stay between 8 & 9. I wear a Libre 2 so I can monitor my blood sugars 24 hours. And from 6am In the morning before I'm even awake that's when they start creeping. I've asked my diabetic nurse and she is a bit baffled and she just said try having carbs before I go asleep and I said no way! I have tried having a fat and protein snack both before I go to sleep and when I awake and same results I was even fasting most day for 23 hours and still the same I don't know what to do get them down please help. Sorry for the long post.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice would be appreciated ☺️❤️xx

I've also attached a screen shot of my libre activity for todayScreenshot_2024-08-22-21-17-32-04_1f282d79cc470271d24365448b52b737.thumb.jpg.7ee1f1c360bf3eb451886200e95a3617.jpg

Far from being an expert here but it sounds like Dawn Phenomenon to me which is pretty normal.