• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

What about Calcium and Potassium?

Hi, This is my first post. I've been doing Carnivore for a couple of months and I'm wondering what you seasoned pros are doing for minerals, especially calcium and potassium. I do use liberal amounts of Himalayan salt on my beef so I probably don't need sodium. 

Thank you. I'm looking forward to this forum

10 hours ago, 5 Smooth Stones said:

Hi, This is my first post.

Welcome Randy!

:welcome:

10 hours ago, 5 Smooth Stones said:

I'm wondering what you seasoned pros are doing for minerals, especially calcium and potassium.

Currently nothing special for calcium. Just whatever is in my carnivore or animal-based food choices. 

For potassium, I occasionally use a product called Daily Minerals from Keto Chow, about once or twice a week. I only use this "as needed" for leg cramps because I have a kidney issue, and I can become hyperkalemic. This stuff tastes like pure nightmares, so you have to dilute it in something and spread the dose out throughout the day.

Something less potent and actually quite tasty is the LMNT electrolyte drink mixes. You would have to drink 5 of these a day to match one dose of the Daily Minerals content. These taste delicious even just mixed with water.

Some carnivores eat several pounds of meat per day, like 4-5 pounds minimum and so they get their electrolyte requirements met and don't take anything at all. I don't get that hungry myself, lol.

My doctor recommends

Two-Per-Day Multivitamin, 120 capsules