• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Not able to digest meals all of a sudden

Hi gang,

Newbie here...I've been on a strict Carnivore diet for 11 weeks and 2 days.  I'm 52, not overweight (5' 11", 145 lbs), just doing it to heal my gut issues such as severe acid reflux (with hiatal hernia), many food allergies/sensitivities, probable leaky gut, bad quality sleep for years, low energy, inflammation (carpal tunnel), etc.  I dove right in from day one to just eating steak, ground beef, pork, chicken, bacon, eggs, and butter, with occasional seafood with my eye on getting plenty of animal fat.  And I only drink water.  For the first 2 months my digestion was fine, though I was very jittery, wasn't sleeping well because of my heart beating very fast during the night.  At about the 10 week period, I started having daily diarrhea all of a sudden with no change in my diet as far as I remember.  After hearing about someone with years of gut issues having trouble digesting fat, I thought that could be my problem.  I cut down fat, started taking digestive enzymes, and cut out chicken and most pork as well, but am still having diarrhea and haven't been regular now for at least a week and a half (and still not sleeping well). I just read on a forum here that someone INCREASED fat in order to get regular.  I really believe in the diet and really want it to work, but I'm so confused and I can't go on like this much longer since I'm losing most of the vitamins and minerals I'm taking in and feeling more and more run down by the day.  Any suggestions?

2 hours ago, Danmusicman said:

I just read on a forum here that someone INCREASED fat in order to get regular.