• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

5 months on carnivore and need help

I’ve been doing carnivore diet for 5 months. I have ulcerative colitis and have been able to get off my medications. The last month or two though I’ve developed a skin rash on my chest abdomen area seems to be getting worse. My bowel movements have become more loose lately as well. I mainly eat beef with a ribeye and ground beef daily. I will eat liver once or twice a week. I want to keep going with it, but am worried with the recent changes. I’m joining this community for some help. 

16 hours ago, srichards77 said:

I have ulcerative colitis and have been able to get off my medications.

That's awesome. I too have (or had) ulcerative colitis and am also medication free at the moment.

16 hours ago, srichards77 said:

The last month or two though I’ve developed a skin rash on my chest abdomen area seems to be getting worse. My bowel movements have become more loose lately as well.

Sounds like you have the "keto rash", For many people, they hang in there and it will go away. It could be happening for various reasons, and we just have to narrow down the cause.

1) Histamine intolerance -> You may have trouble breaking down histamines. This can be a problem with aged beef. Those with a histamine intolerance need to purchase the freshest meat possible. Like, get to know your local butcher/rancher and get your meat from something just slaughtered. Much of the meat we get from the store has already aged several weeks. 

You could also try a variety by adding eggs, chicken, pork, seafood, etc to your diet.