• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Hello,

I am new to carnivore. In between meals at times, I become extremely hungry. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this. 

Everything I have read so far states that when on carnivore you have a feeling of being full and not hungry.

I wondering if i am possibly not getting enough fat?

Thank you for any help,

Dennis

Welcome Dennis. Glad you could join us and welcome to the world of eating a proper human diet.
Hunger in between meals is certainly not common to carnivorous as our food is very satiating.
Generally those who find themselves getting hungry between meals are either not eating enough during their meals or not eating enough fat. It is the fat that satiates us. I can eat a pound of fatty beef and be satisfied all day but chicken leaves my hungry because there just isn’t enough fat I’m nor the right kind of fat to satisfy me. I have to drown my chicken in butter to get anything out of it.
So, examine your diet to make sure you are eating until comfortably full and also getting enough fat.
When I first became carnivore I ate by the clock just like I always had but I started to notice that I was eating when I wasn’t really hungry. So I decided that it was foolish to eat when I wasn’t needing food. I’d never get hungry in the morning and it might be somewhere between noon and three in the afternoon before I’d get hungry enough to eat. I had developed a keto hunger and my carb hunger had gone away. With a keto hunger I only feel the need to eat when my body says it needs fuel. Just because my belly is empty it doesn’t mean I’m hungry, it’s just empty. I’ll know I’m truly hungry when I’m wanting some fatty protein.