• Welcome to our Carnivore / Ketovore / Keto Online Community!

Welcome to Carnivore Talk! An online community of people who have discovered the benefits of an carnviore-centric ketogenic diet with the goal of losing weight, optimizing their health, and supporting and encouraging one another. We warmly welcome you! [Read More]

Low Energy on Carnivore Diet

Hello I am new to the carnivore diet and experience agitation and uncomfortability when I do cardio.  When I cheat on carbs by eating rice or bread, I notice I gain much more energy, my skin glows, and working out is no problem.  If I were to continue eating carbs these effects go away.  I was wondering if my body is getting this uncomfortability due to it not being use to ketosis?  I have been on carnivore diet with a fruit or two a day, for about two weeks.

I would say that the odds of you being in ketosis is quite slim if your are eating that many carbs.
You are definitely eating too much sugar. Any amount of carbs are sugar so add those carbs to the fruit and you are up there.
You are feeling the way you do because you are still in a transition stage and your body doesn’t like it.
It is used to being fueled glucose from the carbs and sugars you ate on SAD. It’s an addiction that results in a roller coaster of energy and cravings. When you eat that way your blood sugar goes up and the dopamine effect in your body is euphoric. When it drops you begin craving more and that is an addiction. That is why you are feeling better after consuming some carbohydrates. No different than being a drug addict and getting your next fix. The only way to stop that addiction is to cut out all sugars sweeteners and carbs.
Your body has been fed bad food for a long time now and it will take a little time to get over that. It can be harder for some than others but in the end it’s all worth it.